Local Government Elections

Local Government elections play an important role in our democratic system and are an excellent opportunity for people to contribute to, and be involved in their local community.

The next Local Government ordinary election will be held on Saturday, 16 October 2021.

Councillors with their term expiring in October 2021 - 
Ian Earl
Julia Meldrum
Pauline McLeod
Naomi Godden

Councillors with their term expiring in October 2023 - 
Brian Daniel
Kylie Kennaugh
Paula Cristoffanini

For more information on current councillors see the Your Councillors page.

Frequently asked questions

  1. How often are elections held?
  2. How do I nominate for council and how long is the term?
  3. How do I vote?
  4. How do I check my enrolment or enrol?
  5. When are voting packages issued?
  6. Can I be issued another voting package?
  7. Where is the polling place?
  8. When will the election results be known?
  9. Who elects the Shire President?
  10. Where can I find past election results?
  11. Where can I find more information?

How often are elections held?

Elections are held on the third Saturday of October every two years for half of the council. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

How do I nominate for council and how long is the term?

If you are eligible to vote in the local government election, you are also likely to be eligible to stand for a position on council.

You can nominate for a position on council regardless of qualifications, religion, race, gender, experience or profession. In fact, councils encourage nominations by people from diverse backgrounds to ensure that a wide range of views are represented.

Councillors in Western Australia are elected for a term of four years.

Nominations are open between Thursday, 2 September and Thursday, 9 September 2021 4pm. Please see the Becoming a Councillor page.

How do I vote?

In Western Australia voting in Local Government elections is not compulsory, however all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.

There are two ways to vote - by post or in person. All electors will be posted a voting package which includes the ballot papers and voting instructions. If you don't complete a postal vote, you may vote in person on the election day. 

How do I check my enrolment or enrol?

Individuals registered with the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) for a property you occupy in the Shire are automatically entitled to vote in the Local Government elections and a voting package will be posted to you. For more information see WAEC webpages Online Enrolment Check and Enrol

Non-resident owners or occupiers of rateable property within the Shire are entitled to vote and are encouraged to complete and lodge an Enrolment Eligibility Claim Form by close of roll date Friday 27 August 2021. 

When are voting packages issued?

The Western Australian Electoral Commission will post the voting package to all electors approximately 3 weeks prior to the election day.

Can I be issued another voting package?

Replacement or provisional voting packages are available on application. Please contact Customer Services.

Where is the polling place?

On the day of voting the polling place is the Margaret River Civic Administration Centre 41 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River and it will be open from 8am to 6pm.  

When will the election results be known?

The Electoral Commissioner will begin counting votes at 6pm on the election day at the polling place and the public are welcome to attend. Election results are usually declared by the Commissioner on the night of the election.

Who votes for the Shire President?

Councillors elect the Shire President at a Special Meeting following the election. 

Where can I find past election results?

Election Results for the Shire of Augusta Margaret River elections since May 1999

Where can I find more information? 

Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC)
Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries

If you have any questions please contact Customer Services.

Community Newsletter

Subscribe to receive Notices and Tenders, Jobs Ads, Media Releases, or the Shire’s E-newsletter

Back to top ↑

Contact the Shire

Postal Address

PO Box 61
Margaret River WA 6285

Margaret River

41 Wallcliffe Road
Monday to Friday
Ph 08 9780 5255
Fax 08 9757 2512


66 Allnut Terrace
Tues, Wed, Thurs
9am-12pm, 1pm-4pm
Ph 08 9780 5255


For contact details for fire, police, bushfire brigades, hospitals, storm damage, power outages, etc please see the emergency contact page

National Relay Service

If you are deaf or have a hearing or speech impairment call us through the National Relay Service

Change of details form

To ensure that you receive your Rates Notice on time we need to be updated on changes. You can do this online.