Media releases

Electors in the Shire can expect to receive their voting packages from the WA Electoral Commission in the post from approximately three weeks out of polling day on Saturday 21 October 2017.

Shire of Augusta Margaret River Chief Executive Officer CEO Gary Evershed strongly encourages all electors to exercise their right to decide which Councillors will represent them on Council.

“I urge voters not to be complacent, but to make sure that they have their say in who will be elected to Council,” he said.

“This is the first year that electors can vote under a no wards system for all four candidates of their choice so it is important that as many voters as possible have their say.   

“At the last election there was a voter turnout of between 33% to 45% so this year let’s see if we can lift that to over 50% or even higher.”  

Nominations for the Shire of Augusta Margaret River local election closed at 4pm last Thursday 14 September 2017 with nine candidates set to vie for the four vacant Council positions. 

Voters will be required to consider the merits of all nominated candidates for the first time at the 21 October 2017 election following the Shire’s move to a no-wards system.

Shire of Augusta Margaret River Chief Executive Officer Gary Evershed said he was pleased to see a good number of community members throw their hat in the ring for a chance of being on Council.

“It’s always fantastic to see a contested election,” he said.

“The candidates have wide and varied backgrounds and local electors have good range of options when considering who will best represent their views on Council.”

The nine nominated candidates are:

  • Pauline McLeod
  • Julian Janes
  • Julia Meldrum
  • Frank Edwards
  • Felicity Haynes
  • Kylie Kennaugh
  • Naomi Godden
  • Kim Hastie
  • Ian Earl

They will be considered for the vacancies left by the expiring terms of:

  • Ian Earl – North Ward
  • Kylie Kennaugh – North Ward
  • Kim Hastie - Leeuwin Ward
  • Felicity Haynes – Town Ward

Successful candidates will hold a place on Council for a period of four years, initially alongside councillors Mike Smart, Peter Lane and Pam Townshend whose terms expire in October 2019.

The newly formed council will elect their Shire President and Deputy Shire President at a special meeting on Wednesday 25 October 2017, following in a swearing in ceremony.

“I’d strongly encourage all local electors to inform yourself and make your vote count this election,’ he said.

Candidate profiles are available for viewing at:



Community Newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly email newsletter for updates regarding events, changes and general happenings within your community.

Back to top ↑

Contact the Shire

Postal Address

PO Box 61
Margaret River WA 6285

Margaret River

41 Wallcliffe Road
Monday to Friday
Ph 08 9780 5255
Fax 08 9757 2512


66 Allnut Terrace
Monday to Friday
9am-12pm, 1pm-4pm
Ph 08 9780 5255


For contact details for fire, police, bushfire brigades, hospitals, storm damage, power outages, etc please see the emergency contact page

National Relay Service

If you are deaf or have a hearing or speech impairment call us through the National Relay Service

Change of details form

To ensure that you receive your Rates Notice on time we need to be updated on changes. You can do this online.