About local government elections

Local government ordinary elections are held on the third Saturday in October every two years. The next state-wide ordinary elections are scheduled for Saturday 21 October 2023.

The Shire holds postal elections, conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The Shire President and Councillors are elected for four-year terms, with half of the Councillors terms concluding at each biennial election. 

2023 election changes

This year’s election will be conducted using the optional preferential voting (OPV) system. This means that electors can vote for one or more candidates by numbering their ballot paper in order of preference. 

Learn more about optional preferential voting.

The Shire President will be directly elected by the public and the Deputy Shire President elected from within Council. 

An additional office of Shire President will be established as a result of these changes. This means that the Shire Council will consist of one Shire President and seven Councillors at the 2023 local government elections.

Find out who has nominated and read their candidate profiles.

Share this page

Back to Top of the page