The Prohibited Burning Period for the Shire has been extended further and will now apply until midnight, Tuesday 14 May 2024. No fires can be lit in the open air. More information here.

The Community Development Trainee 12-month Scholarship is awarded each calendar year to an outstanding, locally-based Year 12 graduating student. Candidates should have an interest in community development, with intentions to progress onto tertiary studies, and a willingness to undertake gap year employment with the Shire.


The scholarship provides a training and community development experience to a High School Graduate for one year as a precursor to tertiary studies. 

As part of the Community Planning and Development service, the scholarship supports the implementation of plans within the Council’s Community Planning and Development Team. 

There is a particular focus on youth, disability, access and inclusion, age-friendliness, arts and culture, and other focus areas, following the Council’s strategic plan, customer service charter, and budget provisions.

Previous participants  

Previous participants of the program are: 

  • Naomi Godden (2003) 
  • Roxanne Moore (2004)
  • Simon O’Leary (2005)
  • Keely Robertson (2006)
  • Natasha Dixon (2007)
  • Moana Lutton (2008)
  • Connor McLeod (2009)
  • Amy Burgess (2010)
  • Ella Sleegers (2012)
  • Jake Graebner-Bond (2013)
  • Emma Godridge (2014)
  • Molly Ryan (2015)
  • Georgina Wilkie (2016)
  • Callum Noone (2017)
  • Ladriel Hackett (2018)
  • Kate Mann (2019)
  • Hope Sortras (2020)
  • Shannon Walker (2021)
  • The 2022 trainee is James Ransley.

Share this page

Back to Top of the page