Julia Meldrum Elected Shire President and New Council Members Announced

Julia Meldrum Elected Shire President and New Council Members Announced

Voters have chosen Julia Meldrum as the first popularly elected Shire President in the Local Government Election held over the weekend.

In the Councillor election, the three highest polling candidates were Nicki Jones, Paula Cristoffanini and Kylie Kennaugh who will each serve a four-year term on the Council.

The fourth-highest polling Councillor candidate Greg Boland has been elected to fill the vacancy created by Ms Meldrum’s election as Shire Presidentwill hold office for two years, being the remainder of Ms Meldrum’s tenure.

It is the first time the public have been able to vote a Shire President into office following reforms to WA’s Local Government Act. Previously the position was elected from within Council. 

The reforms also mean the Council will now consist of one Shire President and a total of seven Councillors, instead of seven councillors including the Shire President.

A public Swearing-in Ceremony will be held at 10am on 25 October 2023 in Council Chambers, 41 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River. Everyone is welcome to attend. This will be followed by a Special Council Meeting at 11am where the new Council will vote to fill the Deputy Shire President position.

The new Council will then hold their first Ordinary Council Meeting at 5.30pm on 25 October 2023.

Thanks to everyone who ran for a seat on the Council, and to those who voted in the election.

Full election results are available via the WA Electoral Commission website.

23 Oct 2023 Topic Type
General News
Share this page
return to news and public notices
Back to top
Back to Top of the page